R75 V8 Misfire / Running like a pig when hot

Thread: R75 V8 Misfire / Running like a pig when hot

Default R75 V8 Misfire / Running like a pig when hot

Hi All

New member so please be gentle...

I have just purchased my 5th Rover 75, the latest being my 2nd v8, I guess that makes me an enthusiast. However, my 04 75 v8 that I have just purchased runs fine while cold and under normal conditions but following a trip through London yesterday it started to run like a pig in heavy traffic (to the point I nearly fumbled around for my breakdown cover card). The temp gauge did not register abnormal temp and I could hear the fan cutting in and out but undoubtably once I got going again everything seemed better albeit not perfect until I started again this morning from cold. It ticks over warm at around 500 but this varies a lot but from cold it's what I would expect a constant 1k or there abouts.

Not sure what the cause can be, I did think coils but I am no mechanic, it's only done 28k.

Thanks for reading and Help!

Chris

...no ... I am ... really spartacus's Avatar

We've all had a bit of that - get's a little warm under the bonnet sir. Once you get going again it tends to disappear. Become a full member and you will learn many things young Skywalker.
    Mark Willcox - Unsnared, like the wind in a net. Unsmeared, like a lotus in water. Leader of others, by others unled: The enlightened call him a sage

Fuel evaporation, coils, plugs perhaps,
    Tim Hayton

Some men see things as they are and say why - I dream things that never were and say why not.

Ex-Mod, RIP

WELCOME

My immediate thought is overheating under the bonnet,

Remove the sound deadening heat retaining carpet under the lid.

When you're Green (full member)you can access this lot:

(Lists of your brothers and sisters)

List of 001 to 883

Locations
    Location Map

Estates

Supercharged Cars

Car Names

Rolling Road Results

Past & Future Events

Technical Index

The SHOP