PDA

View Full Version : General impressions and questions from a non-owner

YorksMG2016
27-03-2016, 12:32 PM
Hello All

Newbie here, but existing ZT190 owner.
I had the opportunity for a drive in a 260 recently, and although it did make me grin like a big kid, I wanted to ask a few questions.

1. How do the cars stand up to high mileage? (the one I was driving had 164,000 on the clock)
2. Whining diff - a common problem or indicative of mechanical wear and tare?
3. Front sub-frame can be a weak spot?
4. How long lasting are clutch and gearbox? (I understand it's an engine and gearbox out job if either need work, and that is expensive!)
5. Any other big expensive jobs - servicing and/or general maintenance/improvement which owners routinely have to do?

Thanks

Andrew

David
27-03-2016, 02:12 PM
Hello All

Newbie here, but existing ZT190 owner.
I had the opportunity for a drive in a 260 recently, and although it did make me grin like a big kid, I wanted to ask a few questions.

1. How do the cars stand up to high mileage? (the one I was driving had 164,000 on the clock)
2. Whining diff - a common problem or indicative of mechanical wear and tare?
3. Front sub-frame can be a weak spot?
4. How long lasting are clutch and gearbox? (I understand it's an engine and gearbox out job if either need work, and that is expensive!)
5. Any other big expensive jobs - servicing and/or general maintenance/improvement which owners routinely have to do?

Thanks

Andrew
1. Mines done 200,000 and runs sweet as a nut.
2. Mine doesn't but there are several reports here of those that do. Maybe poor servicing ?? Costs around 700 to replace I believe ?
3. ? ... but front struts are. Rear end subframe is susceptible to rusting as are rear springs causing breakage, though mine are AOK.
4. Can't say, Mine is a R75, so Auto, but that's fine at 200K.